Examining Differences Between Liquidity And Solvency

Differences Between Liquidity and SolvencyLiquidity looks at how well a company can handle paying wages, inventory, and lending repayments via measuring its cash or quasi-cash levels. Put another way, it looks at the health of a company’s cash flow to satisfy short-term financial obligations.

It’s important to be mindful of different sectors and what’s normal or healthy based on the time of year. For example, retail and manufacturing feature functionally focused companies, which means seasonality impacts their dynamic working capital requirements.

1. Current Ratio

The current ratio looks at the ratio of current assets divided by current liabilities. It measures how well a company is projected to pay its present obligations. If the result is 1.0 to 3.0, it’s considered financially well. However, if it’s higher than 3.0, suboptimal asset utilization may be incurred by the company, with a lower than industry average suggesting financial concern. It’s calculated as follows:

Current Ratio = Current Assets/Current Liabilities

The resulting current ratio can signal many things. For a growing current ratio, debt could be growing or cash levels falling. When the current ratio is falling, but not too low, and it’s a smooth downward trend, it can indicate the company is getting more efficient at moving inventory, collecting invoices, and reducing debt levels.

2. Quick Ratio or Acid Test

This is determined by taking the current assets and deducting inventory from them. Once that’s calculated, that number is divided by current liabilities. By looking at the business’ on-demand liquid assets without factoring in inventory, it’s calculated as follows:

Quick Ratio or Acid Test = (Current Assets – Inventory)/Current Liabilities

Resulting calculations above or equal to 1.0 show a company’s stable short-term fiscal health. It’s important to be mindful that a very high result can indicate there’s idle cash that’s not being reinvested, distributed to shareholders, or otherwise put to better use.

Defining Solvency

Solvency refers to the ability of a business’ complete assets to satisfy its complete long-term financial obligations and loan repayments. It’s especially helpful when the business is analyzed internally or externally to determine if the business can survive and thrive during challenging economic times (industry-specific or macro challenges). It helps determine the company’s creditworthiness, whether it’s a good bet for an investment, and/or the risk for companies to take on additional debt. It looks at not only the debt on the company’s financial statements, but also how it relates to equity, tangible assets, and EBITDA.

Debt to Equity

This measures how a company relies on debt versus its equity. It’s used when comparing one company against its industry competitors and how the company’s own ratio has trended over time. Looking at companies within the same industry, companies with a higher ratio indicate a riskier financial situation. Similarly, a ratio that’s too low can indicate a business not using debt to expand its operations effectively.

While liquidity and solvency are different, they are complementary for both owners and managers, along with external parties such as investors analyzing for the next potential investment.

Understanding the Goodwill to Assets Ratio

Understanding the Goodwill to Assets RatioThe goodwill to assets ratio measures how much of a company’s total assets come from goodwill – an intangible asset like brand value or customer loyalty – and it plays a role in assessing the company’s overall value. It provides a ratio or percentage of the amount of intangible versus tangible assets. Understanding what the ratio represents, how it is calculated, and how to interpret it is essential for effectively applying it to business operations and investment decisions.

Goodwill Defined

Goodwill can be defined as an intangible asset that comes about when the acquiring firm obtains such assets from the acquired firm at a higher value. When it comes to accounting standards, both International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP), intangible assets must be evaluated for impairment, but don’t need to be amortized. Based upon IFRS 38, goodwill is generated solely during an acquisition and is defined as the amount of the acquisition price for the acquired company over its book value. IFRS 38 does not recognize goodwill generated by the company internally.

Calculating Goodwill

Goodwill = Liabilities – Assets + Purchase Price

If a company looks at acquiring another company for $750,000, and the company being acquired has assets of $900,000 and liabilities of $450,000, the net assets would be $450,000. Based on the goodwill formula:

Goodwill = $450,000 – $900,000 + $750,000 = $300,000

Once the goodwill has been established, the Goodwill to Assets Ratio Formula is used as follows:

Goodwill to Assets Ratio = Unamortized Goodwill / Total Assets

If one company is putting itself up for sale with a selling price of $75 million, it would have to establish its book value, based on recent financial statements, along with its goodwill value. Factors that go into calculating a company’s goodwill include if the company has prime real estate, a well-known brand, a rich list of clients, or intellectual property that sets itself apart from competitors in the industry that won’t expire for years. For example, if its intangible assets are $15 million, subtracted from its selling price of $75 million, its tangible assets or book value would be $60 million.

Based on the ratio, it’s calculated as follows:

$15 million / $75 million = 20 percent

Therefore, the ratio is 20 percent for the company’s goodwill as part of the company’s valuation. Otherwise, if the purchase goes through, whoever buys the company spends 20 percent on the company’s goodwill.

Analyzing the Goodwill to Assets Ratio

This ratio gives an overview of a business’s financial health. The lower the ratio, the more tangible or physical assets that can be sold. Conversely, the higher the ratio, the fewer intangibles a company has. Much like assets that can be written down, so can a company’s goodwill.

This ratio is not one-in-all and should be measured against businesses within the same industry. Based on this analysis, if a company has a large amount of goodwill on its financial statements, if it’s written down, it could still result in a lower valuation despite the company having a large amount of assets.

Looking over time, it shows the importance of ongoing evaluations. In 1975, according to the University of California, Los Angeles, companies on the Standard and Poor’s 500 (S&P 500) had $122 billion of intangible assets and $594 billion of tangible assets, or about a 21 percent intangible to tangible assets ratio. These companies included most industrial and energy sector names like GE, Procter & Gamble, 3M, Exxon Mobil, along with IBM, based on market capitalization. However, in 2018, the ratio increased to 84 percent of intangible to tangible assets. Intangible assets accounted for $21.03 trillion and $4 trillion when looking at most of the companies on the S&P 500, which included Apple, Alphabet, Microsoft, Amazon, and Facebook, based on market capitalization.

While the growth of technology and communication services has risen and skewed the tangible to intangible ratio, it shows the importance of evaluating companies and sectors individually, not just with a broad brush.

Sources

Boom of Intangible Assets Felt Across Industries and Economy

Cash Flow Available for Debt Service (CFADS)

Cash Flow Available for Debt Service (CFADS)When it comes to the risk of default, Moody’s found that during COVID-19, American businesses had a 7.8 percent chance of defaulting. This is compared to a low of 4 percent in 2021, but lower than the current 9.2 percent risk of default, according to a March 2025 report by the rating agency.

Also known as cash flow available for debt service, CFADS determines how much cash is available to service debt obligations. It looks at different cash inflows/outflows to show both internal (owners and managers) and external audiences (investors) how efficient (or not) a business is in its ability to produce cash flows and manage its debts without defaulting.

While one method businesses use is balancing client sales, it is also common to look at various accounting entries, including Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation, and Amortization (EBITDA). The results of CFADS are often used by financial analysts when creating coverage ratios, including the project life coverage ratio (PLCR), the debt service coverage ratio (DSCR), and the loan life coverage ratio (LLCR). It can sometimes take the place of EBITDA in certain circumstances. It’s important to note that the three coverage ratios show how well a plan is able to service and not default on debt throughout the entire project’s period.

For example, the DSCR = CFADS / Scheduled Debt Service (Interest + Principal Obligations)

Once this is calculated based on the company’s project specifications, if the result is greater than 1, then it signifies and gives greater confidence to internal and external audiences that the company will be able to meet its milestones and final payments.

The most efficient formula for calculating CFADS is as follows:

EBITDA – Taxes – Positive or Negative Result of Working Capital – Capital Expenditures for Maintenance Only

$200,000 (EBITDA) – $30,000 (Taxes) + $20,000 (assuming there’s a negative $20,000 change in working capital) – $40,000 (assuming the capital expenditure investing in maintenance)

CFADS = $150,000

Sometimes the calculation includes dividends, which need to be factored into the calculation. This example assumes it is not part of the calculation.

Interpreting Results

It’s important to understand that a more detailed analysis helps all audiences determine if the projected cash flow is available for different claimants of the business. While most of the calculations are done via the waterfall model, it’s important to analyze it based upon senior and junior debt, along with equity. If a company declares bankruptcy, senior debt holders are the first priority to be made whole (or as whole as possible, depending on the circumstances). Senior debt is collateralized or secured with company assets that are sold off during bankruptcy. From there, junior debt holders are next in line, followed by convertible note holders, then preferred stockholders, and finally common stockholders.

While this calculation is only one part of the way internal and external stakeholders can measure a company’s financial health, with the chance of more firms defaulting on debt, it’s another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox.

Valuation Ratio Calculating the EV / 2P

Valuation Ratio Calculating the EV / 2PWhen it comes to analyzing a company’s financials, there are many avenues we can take. One way is through multiples; calculating the EV/2P multiple is the focus of this analysis.

This ratio looks at a business’ enterprise value against its proven and probable 2P reserves. While ratios or multiples are used in valuing companies, this metric is used chiefly to value gas and oil companies for energy sector analysts. Analysts use this calculation to determine the likelihood that a company’s reserve resources can underpin its functioning and expansion efforts. Along with the ratio, analysts use micro and macro factors to determine a company’s financial health, its growth prospects, and whether the business is undervalued or overvalued.

This multiple is similar in comparison to other valuation multiples such as Price-to-Book (P/B), Price-to-Earnings (PE), Enterprise Value/Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation, and Amortization. While these other metrics can also value an oil or gas company, understanding how it’s calculated is essential to why it is sector specific.  

Breaking Down the EV/2P Ratio

EV = Market Value of Equity + Market Value of Debt – Cash and Cash Equivalents

It’s determined by the complete market worth asserted by the bond and equity holders (net of cash).

2P = Proven Reserves + Probable Reserves

The reserves of a company give analysts and investors an idea of the likelihood of the recoverability of reserves being produced and assisting the company’s growth. Proven reserves, often denoted as “P1” or “P90,” are rated at a 90 percent chance of recovering successfully. Probable reserves, also called “P50,” have a 1-in-2 chance of recovering. Both reserve types and their likelihood of being recovered are, therefore, referred to as 2P.  

It’s important to note a third category referred to as “possible reserves.” This category is not factored into the company’s valuation because the 10 percent to 50 percent likelihood of reserve recoverability is too low.  

Example

Illustrating how it’s calculated gives a more complete picture of how to analyze the results. For example, say a business‘ market capitalization is $200 million with a net debt of $100 million, giving it an enterprise value of $300 million. Assuming the company has $10 million of probable reserves, $20 million of proven reserves, and $15 million of possible reserves, the calculation is as follows:

EV = $300 million ($200 million + $100 million)

2P reserves = $30 million ($10 million + $20 million)

Therefore, $300 million/$30 million = $10

Every dollar of its market capitalization is worth $10 based on its 2P reserves. Once the calculation is determined, the ratio of the EV/2P is measured against the energy sector’s average ratio. The higher the EV/2P ratio, especially against its peers, the higher valuation the company has compared to other companies with the same amount of 2P reserves. The company’s shares are sold at a higher multiple than other companies.

It’s important to keep in mind that if a company’s financials are stronger or it’s more efficient and provides a better prospect for investors against its peers, its lofty valuation may be justified. It’s also important to not look at valuing companies exclusively with this ratio/multiple but also review other metrics and the macro-economic conditions before making a final investment decision.

While this multiple is primarily used for the energy industry, those who use it should be mindful to not analyze a company in that lens only, but to use a holistic analysis when valuing any type of company.

Defining Net Revenue Retention (NRR)

What is Net Revenue Retention (NRR)The subscription economy, according to Forbes, is expected to reach $1.5 trillion in revenue for businesses. With the potential likely realized this year, it’s vital to understand how it is tracked – and more importantly, how it’s able to be tracked on a separate basis.

Also known as net dollar retention (NDR), this metric calculates the proportion of recurring revenue kept from present clients, including upsells and churn, during a defined time frame. Net revenue retention (NRR) evaluates a business’s potential to keep and increase sales from their present clients.

It looks at how well a company leverages existing customer relationships to increase sales through add-ons, complimentary services, etc. It focuses on the long-term growth of recurring revenue from these relationships. It’s calculated as follows:

NRR = (Starting MRR + Expansion MRR – Churn MRR) ÷ Starting MRR

Based on the following assumptions:

Starting monthly recurring revenue: $200,000

Expansion monthly recurring revenue: $40,000

Churn monthly recurring revenue: $20,000

NRR = ($200,000 + $40,000 – $20,000) / $200,000 = 1.10 or 110%

Based on this result, the company is increasing its revenue from existing customers faster than it’s failing to keep revenue from customer churn, an important metric showing growth.

The following factors impact the formula:

Starting MRR is also referred to as the baseline recurring revenue.

Expansion MRR refers to the added sales from newly added clients, upselling, upgrades, and additions to existing customers’ services.

Churn MRR is the sales missed by customers who stopped or lowered their level and type of services with the company.

Defining a Healthy Revenue Retention Rate

Companies that have a score of more than 100 percent show they’re bringing in more revenue from the existing customer base versus what the company is losing from customer churn. If, however, it’s less than 100 percent, customer satisfaction might be lacking, and customers may either be lost or simply not interested in additional services. Since acquiring new customers is more expensive than keeping current ones, it can lead to reflection on how to improve retention rates.

Journal Entry for Recurring Revenue

Assuming there’s a 12-month contract signed for monthly services, the journal entry would be as follows for a $1,000/monthly payment for a total of $12,000.

  Debit Credit
Cash $12,000  
Unearned Recurring Subscription Income $12,000  

Once the $1,000 subscription income has been earned, the following journal entry would be entered.

  Debit Credit
Unearned Recurring Subscription Income $1,000  
Earned Recurring Subscription Income   $1,000

While each industry and business are different, using this metric can help companies determine if there’s a customer retention problem; then they can start the investigation on how to increase retention for the future.

Sources

https://www.forbes.com/councils/forbesfinancecouncil/2023/10/27/the-truth-about-recurring-revenue/

Analyzing Return on Ad Spending

What is Return on Ad SpendingReturn on Ad Spend (ROAS) is one way to help advertising and marketing professionals and investors analyze how well promotions do (or don’t) produce sales. It helps advertisers develop data based on their campaigns’ revenue production (or lack thereof). Understanding how this metric is calculated and how to analyze ROAS is essential for businesses to monitor and increase their advertising performance.

Known as a Key Performance Indicator (KPI), ROAS determines how much sales are generated per dollar invested on advertising outlays. It separates advertising costs from the company’s costs, and it focuses on:

1. The differences between advertising income and advertisement expenses

2. Assisting companies with creating efficient budgets

3. Identifying unprofitable campaigns

How ROAS is calculated:

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) = Revenue generated from ad campaign/Total advertising costs for a specific campaign

The revenue generated from an ad campaign is the revenue immediately assignable to promotions utilizing a tracking tool.

Total advertising costs for a specific campaign are expenses explicitly connected to the advertising platform.

The resulting calculation determines the business’ return on ad spend, giving owners and managers an idea of how well (or not) ad spending impacts the company’s sales. It similarly enables business owners to reconcile the company’s budgeted advertising costs against growing sales metrics. The following hypothetical breakdown shows what a positive scenario looks like:

A ROAS of 10 = $10 of revenue was earned for every $1 spent on ads. This would translate into:

Total Ad Spend: $10,000

Revenue Generated: $100,000

ROAS = $10

ROAS = 10:1

Important considerations when calculating this include factoring in merchant expenses, costs for digital content production, and costs incurred from media platforms. It’s also important to consider that it’s not always cut-and-dry as to how and what specific ads convert potential customers into paying customers. Assigning the exact ad platform or campaign is a common problem when determining the exact ROAS.

Credit analysis conducted by lenders evaluates ROAS to determine the sales ability of companies seeking loans, especially with promotion-centric companies. The higher the ROAS, the less risk there is and the more reliable the revenue from each campaign. For merger and acquisition professionals, ROAS trends offer insight into a target company’s sustainability. It helps determine if a company’s advertising campaigns can sustain themselves and keep generating future growth.

It’s equally important to see how ROAS compares against other metrics. While ROAS focuses on revenue generated per dollar spent, the advertising-to-sales ratio looks at the total proportion of sales driven by advertising efforts. Similarly, while ROAS measures the revenue per ad spend, return on investment analyzes the comprehensive profitability for the complete level of marketing expenses – not exclusively advertising. While ROAS is a short-term measure on instant sales, Lifetime Value looks at the customer’s history with the company and the entire revenue the company earns from the relationship.

While this metric is helpful for many professionals, it’s important to ensure that only necessary data is included and customer conversion is monitored precisely in order to get the best output.

4 Common Liquidity Ratios in Accounting

One way a business can manage its books and viability in the near and long terms is to see how liquid its assets are. Businesses that have better cash positions are naturally geared toward sustaining continued success. One important reason for a business to measure and maintain healthy levels of liquidity is because it promotes better odds that a company will be able to satisfy its short-term debts. There are many ways business can accomplish this, and below are four common ways it can be done.

Current Ratio

One of the few liquidity ratios is what’s known as the current ratio. It’s a way to determine how well a company can pay back its debts.

The current ratio is also known as the “working capital ratio,” showing how well a business can satisfy financial obligations that must be paid back within 12 months. Using an example is a good way to see how it works:

Let’s assume a company has the following assets, it would use the following ratio:

Current Ratio = Current Assets / Current Liabilities

Marketable Securities such as stocks, bonds or purchase agreements maturing in 12 months or less can be considered a current asset. Businesses may also consider cash, accounts receivable, prepaid expenses, office supplies and saleable inventory they have in stock as current assets.

Outstanding bills or accounts payable and short-term debt – within the next 12 months as described above – are considered current liabilities. Other expenses can be interest payable, income and payroll taxes payable, which can also be considered current liabilities.

If the current assets of a business are $250 million, and that is divided by current liabilities of $75 million, the Current Ratio would be 250 / 75, or 3.33

With a current ratio of 3.33, the company is in good financial health because it can pay off its debts easily.

Acid-Test Ratio

The Acid-Test Ratio determines how capable a company is of paying off its short-term liabilities with assets easily convertible to cash.

Also known as the quick ratio, the formula is as follows:

Acid-Test Ratio = Current Assets – Inventories / Current Liabilities

Current assets consist of cash and similar assets (savings/checking accounts, deposits becoming liquid in three months or less), marketable securities and accounts receivable. From there, the summation is divided by the company’s current liabilities expected to be paid in 12 months.

The other way to calculate the acid-test ratio or quick ratio is as follows:

The first step is to look at the company’s current assets that can be liquidated within 12 months. Then inventory must be valued – that which is intended to be sold for purchase. From there, the inventory value is subtracted from the current assets. The resulting value is then divided by the business’ current liabilities.

The acid-test ratio is one way to determine a company’s ability to satisfy current liabilities without selling inventory or getting more lending. With the uncertainty and profitability of selling inventory, one can argue that it gives a better picture of a company’s financial fitness.

For example, if a company comes out with a ratio of 3, this means that a business has $3 for every $1 of liabilities. However, as a company’s quick ratio increases, it might show there’s too much money not being reinvested to increase the company’s efficiency and profitability. A higher quick ratio figure can also indicate that there are too many accounts receivable that are owed but uncollected by the company.

Cash Ratio

As the name implies, the cash ratio determines how financially able a company is to satisfy short-term liabilities with cash and cash equivalents.

Also referred to as the cash asset ratio, this tells how capable a business is of satisfying short-term debts, usually 12 months or less, with cash and cash equivalents only. This ratio is as follows:

Cash Ratio = Cash and Cash Equivalents / Current Liabilities

Examples of cash and cash equivalents include physical currency, minted coins and checks. Cash equivalents include money market accounts, Treasury bills and anything that can be converted into cash in almost real-time.

When it comes to current liabilities, accrued liabilities, short-term debts and accounts payable are examples that are due within one year.

From there, the ratio is as follows to determine a company’s cash asset ratio:

Cash and Cash Equivalents (Cash: $25,000 + Cash Equivalents: $100,000) / Liabilities (Accounts Payable: $30,000 + Short-term debt: $25,000)

$125,000 / $55,000 = 2.27

Based on this calculation, the company would be able to pay off 227 percent of present liabilities with its cash and/or cash equivalents. For creditors and investors evaluating a company, it can show the company has ample liquidity. Creditors are naturally more willing to lend to companies with more cash flow; and investors are interested to see how liquidity is being managed.

Operating Cash Flow Ratio

This ratio measures how efficiently a business can meet present liabilities from the cash flow of its core business operations. It tells a company the number of times over it can satisfy its liabilities based on the amount of cash it generated over a certain time-frame.

This ratio can also include accruals, giving a fair estimate of a business’ short-term liquidity. The formula to determine this ratio is as follows:

Operating Cash Flow Ratio = Cash Flow from Operations / Current Liabilities

The statement of cash flow is where the operation’s cash flow is found. It can also be calculated by determining a company’s net income, plus non-cash expenses, plus working capital changes.

Current liabilities are defined as financial obligations due within the next 12 months. Common ones are accrued liabilities, accounts payable and/or short-term debt.

Once the operating cash flow ratio is calculated, a company’s financial health can be determined. If the ratio is 1.5 or 2, for example, it means the company can cover 1.5 times or double its present liabilities. However, if the ratio is less than 1, then the amount of cash generated from operations is insufficient to satisfy short-term liabilities.

As part of a comprehensive accounting practice, businesses that run these ratio calculations will be able to identify where there’s too little or too much liquidity and reduce current and future financial peril.